FOR ALL

Andromaque, by Jean Racine

DSC_9958_Andromaque_-_A_visage_découvert
Affiche Andromaque A visage Découvert.jpg

Photo credit Johan Pijpops,

Mathieu Hussenot poster

In a timeless world, four young people have fun chasing each other, with no guarantee of being loved in return.

Discovering threadbare circus costumes in an old trunk, they grab hold of them and, out of play, begin to slip into the skin of Racine's characters. But little by little, the passion wins them, to the point of being embroiled in spite of themselves in the tragedy.

The action takes place in Epirus, at the end of the Trojan War. Hector is dead and Andromaque, his wife, is held prisoner with his son Astyanax in the palace of Pyrrhus. Orestes, who arrives in the Greek province to claim the death of Astyanax, burns with love for Hermione, herself in love with Pyrrhus to whom she is engaged. But Pyrrhus falls in love with his captive who, faithful to the memory of her husband, rejects his advances.

Meanwhile, Hermione, disdaining Orestes fiery declarations, prepares to marry Pyrrhus, who welcomes her coldly.

The struggles led by the members of this amorous quartet to break the deadlock are the engine of their tragic destiny. Pushed by Hermione, Orestes causes the death of Pyrrhus on his wedding day with Andromache, who had resolved to this union to save his son. Promised to the retribution of the furies, Hermione stabs herself on Pyrrhus' body. Andromache becomes queen and widow a second time, while Oreste sinks into madness.

Plug

Duration: 1h 25

Directed by Jean-Yves Brignon

With Joël Abadie, Claire Delmas or Suzanne Legrand, Emma Debroise, Benoit Guibert or Ken Michel

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Sevil Gregory Theatrical Aesthetics

Lighting Vincent Lemoine

Music Robinson Senpauroca

Representations

Press kit available here

Educational file here

- Creation at the Festival Off d'Avignon 2019 at the ARCAS marquee-theater

July 5 to 28 at 3 p.m. - info here ...

- 15 Oct 19 Aix-en-Provence

- 22 nov 19 Brignoles

- from February 11 to 13, 2022 Théâtre Beaux Arts Tabard, Montpellier

- POSTPONED (from March 19 to 21, 2021 Théâtre Beaux Arts Tabard, Montpellier)

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

School

The show is available to be performed in middle and high schools. Contact us for more information.

Production

Logo_Les_DémarquésFB.jpg
Le Mille feuille_Carte_visite_MF_final_V
logo_projet_finance proarti.png

Patronage

The show received the support of the Proarti platform for a search for participatory funding for creation. You will find below the list of our contributors

Contributions

The show could not have been created without the support and help of our generous contributors. It meant a lot to us. We would like to thank them most warmly:

Patrick Lo Ré, Christian Yaghmourian, Patrice Poidevin, Michèle Pelatan, Nadège Bosoni,, Anne-Laure Metzger, Alain Galard, Anouk Jurado, Christian Bordeleau, Hervé Aubin, Christian Brice, Marie-Isalyne Bourgogne, Simon Galard, Isabelle Lesponne, Sébastien Smetryns , Muriel Gardillou, Igo Pejic, Emmanuelle Brice, Rachel Wach, Valérie Brignon Catrice, Marc Poidevin, Christina Pontet, Simon Poidevin, Amandine Thiriet, Valérie Mastrangelo, Suzanne Siquier, Bernadette Audelain, Marie-Christine Manasfi, Philippe Rambach, Germaine Brice, Laure Michel, Philippe Guichardaz, Olivia Lamorlette, Jean-Luc Pichon, Pascal Delmas, Benoit Marin, Claire Puzenat, Emilie Fialon, Luc Marin, Magali Beauvois, Jean-Claude Delmas, Isabelle Jamot, Mohammad Bakri, Stefano Fogher, Mériem, Weill-Lebrun , Anne Foucher, Lilian Delmas, Fabrice Levesque, Nicolas Millot, Philippe de Chanville, Christine Beauvallet, John Jomeo.

Andromaque, de Jean Racine

Crédit photo Johan Pijpops,

affiche Mathieu Hussenot

Dans un monde hors du temps, quatre jeunes gens s’amusent à se courir après, sans gage d’être aimés en retour. 

Découvrant dans une vieille malle des costumes de cirque élimés, ils s’en emparent et, par jeu, commencent à se glisser dans la peau des personnages de Racine. Mais peu à peu, la passion les gagne, au point d’être embarqués malgré eux dans la tragédie.

 

L’action se passe en Épire, à la fin de la guerre de Troie. Hector est mort et Andromaque, son épouse, est retenue prisonnière avec son fils Astyanax dans le palais de Pyrrhus. Oreste, qui arrive dans la province grecque pour réclamer la mort d’Astyanax, brûle d’amour pour Hermione, elle-même éprise de Pyrrhus auquel elle est fiancée. Mais Pyrrhus tombe amoureux de sa captive qui, fidèle au souvenir de son époux, repousse ses avances.

 

Pendant ce temps, Hermione, dédaignant les déclarations enflammées d’Oreste s’apprête à épouser Pyrrhus, qui l’accueille froidement.

 

Les luttes menées par les membres de ce quatuor amoureux pour sortir de l'impasse sont le moteur de leur destin tragique. Poussé par Hermione, Oreste provoque la mort de Pyrrhus le jour de ses noces avec Andromaque, qui s'était résolue à cette union pour sauver son fils. Promise au châtiment des furies, Hermione se poignarde sur le corps de Pyrrhus. Andromaque devient reine et veuve une seconde fois, tandis qu’Oreste sombre dans la folie.

Fiche

Durée : 1h 25

Mise en scène Jean-Yves Brignon

Avec Joël Abadie, Claire Delmas, Emma Debroise, Suzanne Legrand, Ken Michel

Esthétique théâtrale Sevil Gregory

Lumière Vincent Lemoine

Musique Robinson Senpauroca

Représentations

Dossier de presse disponible ici

Dossier pédagogique ici

- Création au Festival Off d'Avignon 2019 au chapiteau-théâtre ARCAS

du 5 au 28 juillet à 15H - infos par là...

- 15 oct 19 Aix-en-Provence

- 22 nov 19 Brignoles

- du 5 au 9 fev 2020 Théâtre Beaux Arts Tabard, Montpellier

- du 22 au 24 jan 2021 Théâtre Beaux Arts Tabard, Montpellier

Scolaires

Le spectacle est disponible pour être joué dans les collèges et lycées. Contactez-nous pour plus de renseignements.

Production

A Visage Découvert, Les Démarqués, Le Mille-feuille

Logo_Les_DémarquésFB.jpg
Le Mille feuille_Carte_visite_MF_final_V
logo_projet_finance proarti.png

Mécénat

Le  spectacle a reçu le soutien de la plate forme Proarti pour une recherche de financement participatif à la création. Vous trouverez plus bas la liste de nos contributeurs

Contributions

Le spectacle n'aurait pas pu se créer sans le soutien et l'aide de nos généreux contributeurs. Cela a beaucoup compté pour nous. Qu'ils en soient ici remerciés  le plus chaleureusement :

Patrick Lo Ré, Christian Yaghmourian, Patrice Poidevin, Michèle Pelatan, Nadège Bosoni, , Anne-Laure Metzger, Alain Galard, Anouk Jurado, Christian Bordeleau, Hervé Aubin, Christian Brice, Marie-Isalyne Bourgogne, Simon Galard, Isabelle Lesponne, Sébastien Smetryns, Muriel Gardillou, Igo Pejic, Emmanuelle Brice, Rachel Wach, Valérie Brignon Catrice, Marc Poidevin, Christina Pontet, Simon Poidevin, Amandine Thiriet, Valérie Mastrangelo, Suzanne Siquier, Bernadette Audelain, Marie-Christine Manasfi, Philippe Rambach, Germaine Brice, Laure Michel, Philippe Guichardaz, Olivia Lamorlette, Jean-Luc Pichon, Pascal Delmas, Benoit Marin, Claire Puzenat, Emilie Fialon, Luc Marin, Magali Beauvois, Jean-Claude Delmas, Isabelle Jamot, Mohammad Bakri, Stefano Fogher, Mériem, Weill-Lebrun, Anne Foucher, Lilian Delmas, Fabrice Levesque, Nicolas Millot, Philippe de Chanville, Christine Beauvallet, John Jomeo.

© 2020 Compagnie À Visage Découvert

 

  • w-facebook
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
  • Contactez-nous